top of page

Episode 2 development content

Heya folks. You may have scrolled down here to find some of the old content I posted a while ago. These are some WiP images of Episode 2. Most of these images are spoiler free, so it's all cool. They are from the "Notes of Chernobyl" work-in-progress thread I did a while back. I would post when I had something new and exciting to show that isn't spoiling the plot.

This was the intial design for the set of Episode 2. This was long before I used the skyboxes present in the final version.

This was a scrapped scene that I still have the files from. Instead of the opening playing out like normal, Edyson would have been fully captured, yet merely unconsious in a room. He would not have been tied up due to neglect of a lazy Raider, allowing him for a sneaky escape. This was removed as the scene was boring to watch after the inital assasination, and was changed in favor of the character setting intro you see today.

More on that, the camera would pan out from the assasination animation to show he was somewhere else. The leaves didn't make sense for the environment so the entire scene was just cut.

The first look at the truck scene, before actual animation begun. The truck didn't actually move, and wasn't much to look at first. Now the background flows like it does normally, which is a lot more appealing to watch.

The truck used in the scene, in an albiet less good looking render. This scene bugs me due to the shadows in Mine-imator and how they affected the beast of legend Subject 052 made for me. (Bless your heart for this amazing work though!) This is also when I started using skyboxes, which I loved better than the clouds and sun feature normally used. Though I do have to mind my limits with it.

This is used for outros of videos. Not much to say about it other than ZZZZane's particles were used to simulate rain.

Marxe (EnderVaren) punching the Raider Captain (ZZZZane) This is when I started changing skyboxes to represent the environments. They also set the time of day, which is also cool I guess.

Millie is introduced from the hanger at the end of Episode 1. What has gotten into her?

Marxe shooting at someone. Was mainly done to show that the development wasn't dead.

Another Image to show the blog wasn't dead. This time using ElvenShot's old Jeep rig. I also played around with graffiti in this scene, which you can kind of see under the far-back tire.

This image shows that rendering these scenes were no joke. This scene alone took the most memory to render, and I often crashed or this would happen. Instead of a real-time render, it would produce a screenshot render. This scene was planned to re-render since Subject 052 remade this tank with proper wheels, but was cut due to time constraints. This does not signify the end of Subject 052's work where more of this tank will be used with moving parts as well. So it looks very out of place when it slides around.

This was where the final scene takes place. No spoilers here. Was rendered on the lowest settings to save on memory, and rendered fairly well. Lighting was done the best here and it shows in the final release of the episode. Some changes made too, but you can see that for yourself.

And that's pretty much the whole WiP of episode 2. Go and watch it!

..Whenever I actually release it..

No tags yet.
bottom of page