top of page

My story starts here.

Hello all. This is Edyson. I take time between each episode to write things in my diary. Here is where it is all stored. All my events and adventures will go here, maybe it will reach humanity in time before things are too late.

Many may not know anything about me, so I better introduce myself. I am Edyson Kurik. I have been living in Chernobyl long after the inital accident. It is not a likely place for life, however it is our only one currently.

It all started in the past when life was simple. I was born on March 7th, 1997, and my father was out of being drafted in the army at that time. My mother loved me so, and my father was very caring. Over the years my father taught me life lessons, like standing up for what's right, which I held dear. I hold them the dearest these days as they are the only shreds of hope that keep me walking though this shithole.

I was a single child growing up, and I never trusted anyone growing up in school. I felt I was destined to be alone, and Elementry school was quite odd during these times. When I discovered how friends work, I made only a few. I felt like I should only trust those who offer assistance or help me in times of need.

Pako was my first friend. He stood up for me after being bullied by some brats in 4th grade. He was very sincere to me however. It made a large impact on me wanting protecting the weak.

To be fearless in the eyes of danger while welcoming to the rest who survive it. I aimed to grow stronger like Pako and one day save another life.

My very day came in the 5th grade when a young girl named Willow was being picked on by some girls. They threw dirt in her face, and called her ugly. This bothered me too much, to the point that my interest in girls were lost at that very moment. She needed saving, no matter the cost. So I stood in front of her and told the girls to back off. They scoffed me for my various fights lost in a blind rage at bullies. Eventually they walked off to where I stood firm.

I felt hurt. It wasn't a pleasant feeling. It never was. This time any bruise or bite from any fight never compared to what they said. It's so lost on my now I never remember it.

I looked upon Willow and her sobbing had stopped. She looked up on me, to where I reach out my hand. She grabs my hand and I pick her up. This was the day we became friends.

During Middle School in my second semester, my Father was called off to fight in a war. This was a new kind of war which we hadden't seen before since the 1940s. Another world war. This time of three major powers in this war, these men of money were all against eachother with conflicting opinions.

Pako had to move, where this This war caused his father to be drafted causing his mother to live with her side of the family until he returned. I felt sad for him, and I hugged him the hardest one man could losing a friend. Only Willow and I remained.

It was now High School and I had not been receiving good grades. I was worried about my father since he had been gone so long. My mother reassured me and told me to focus on school. Willow tried to console me during this, as I would often break out into crying fits thinking about my father. He made such an impact on me, I was breaking character and crying over him. His toughest soldier had fallen.

I don't remember when, or how, but one night I went to Willow's house. She had only lived with her grandmother, as her mother died when Willow was born and his father was killed in the war shortly after. She had told me everything about it, and horrified me in such a way I hugged her. Almost as I could relate with her. Tears ran down from my eyes as it felt I was being selfish. I said sorry to her, and confessed a lot of things to her that night. I even lost some things, as did she. I awoke the next day with her embrace holding me tight in the bed we slept together in.

This war becomes aimless, and all sides blindly follow one command, send out the nukes. This was eminent to happen, and wipe out the entire earth. They had no idea it would, it was only a coincidence and a massive oversight. The warheads we say every day finally came close to home, almost too close.

Once news was leaked out, my mother rushed to grab me and we needed to catch a flight. School was a thing of the past, and so was my life as I know it. That was the last I saw of my house, of Willow, and of Pako. We flew on a plane out of Russia as the oceans would keep us safe from the eminent destruction. She brought with her a gas mask for me and her, which I was to hold onto for the start of all of this. We would need it to find home she says.

She threw a jacket on me to keep me warm, my father's jacket. I was still shivering, but it made me feel warmer knowing it was dad's. The flight was shortly interrupted by something causing the jets to fail. Everyone is panicking and scrambling for their loved ones. My mother clutches me tightly, and tells me to think of my happy place. I close my eyes tightly and think of the days I would play with dad in our backyard. The simplier times when the world seemed so innocent.

Directly over a forest the plane crashes. Many are killed in the crash, including my mother. A piece of metal stabbed her and me in the back, but her body softened the impact to keep me alive. I was bleeding badly, but alive. I had felt pain so much that this time I didn't feel much of anything anymore. I didn't even cry a drop of a tear. Have I gone insane now?

A stranger told me to put on the gas mask I had taken. I put it on, while others cover their mouths with a mixture of chemicals onboard. We emerge out of the crash and head north according to a stranger's compass. We reach a town, which was made of stone it seems. The place seemed of something like an ancient colony. It had doors, but no windows. Most of the stuff was ruined, but still working oddly enough.

"Chernobyl" I hear a voice call out. It can't be. This of all the places in the world? We are stranded here?

Among the people one carries a radio. He tunes it on, to where only static plays. He repeatedly changes stations, but it's no good. Nothing but static noise continues to blare out the tiny speakers.

"So that's it then? We're stranded here?"

This is where our lives began. Slowly many others started to emerge from the wilderness, winding up here. I don't know how that even happens, but they must have been lost enough to end up here. This is the place I would call home for the rest of my days.

No tags yet.
bottom of page